A Black woman looking down at a body of water in a public pool, about to dip her toes in. Image Bradley Martin

How I Learned to Swim

24 July-14 September

Jamie can’t swim. Bit awkward when you’re 30. Fuelled by guilt and a need to mend her broken family, Jamie is taking on her biggest fear. The ocean.

Prentice Productions, in association with Brixton House present

Description

Written by Somebody Jones.

Jamie can’t swim. Bit awkward when you’re 30. Fuelled by guilt and a need to mend her broken family, Jamie is taking on her biggest fear. The ocean.    

With the help of a chipper swim instructor, a shady spiritual guide and one cathartic crab sandwich, she’s questioning, ‘How many lengths does it take to wash away regret?’   

Brilliantly witty, deeply heartfelt, this play explores what lies beneath the surface of Black people’s relationship to water.   

Somebody Jones’ searing debut is “funny with fear, liberating with grief” (Fringe Review) and impossible to walk away from unchanged.

Content warnings

References to mental illness, suicide, grieving and death of a family member. Descriptions of drowning. Indirect references to Middle Passage and Black diasporic trauma.


Creative team

Writer Somebody Jones
Director Emma Jude Harris

Performances

Tickets: £22, £18 concessions, £16 previews
Recommended age: 12+, references to mental illness, suicide, grieving and death of a family member.
Duration: 1 hours
Wed 24 Jul 7:45pm
Edinburgh Fringe Preview
Thu 25 Jul 7:45pm
Edinburgh Fringe Preview
Fri 26 Jul 7:45pm
Edinburgh Fringe Preview
Mon 02 Sep 7:45pm
Tue 03 Sep 7:45pm
Press Night
Wed 04 Sep 2:45pm
Wed 04 Sep 7:45pm
BSL Interpreted
Thu 05 Sep 7:45pm
Fri 06 Sep 7:45pm
Open Caption Performance
Sat 07 Sep 2:45pm
Sat 07 Sep 7:45pm
Mon 09 Sep 7:45pm
Tue 10 Sep 7:45pm
Wed 11 Sep 2:45pm
Wed 11 Sep 7:45pm
Thu 12 Sep 7:45pm
Audio Described + Touch Tour (18:15)
Fri 13 Sep 7:45pm
Sat 14 Sep 2:45pm
Sat 14 Sep 7:45pm